News & Barn notes

Shurman Finishes Strong to Capture $2,000 Pick Your Prize Challenge

June 06, 2017

05-15-16 09 Still Krz0_391x1

Monmouth Park’s biggest handicapping contest ever was held Saturday, June 3 and the winner was Paul Shurman of Dix Hills, NY. 

Shurman bested a field that included 172 entries from players from 26 states plus Canada.It was a star-studded field for the second-annual $2,000 Pick Your Prize Challenge – in which players started with a $1,000 bankroll and bet on races from Monmouth Park, Belmont and Churchill.  There was a $100 minimum bet and wagers had to be win, place, show and/or exacta. 

Shurman turned his starting $1,000 bankroll into $8,190 and used a strong late push to catapult to the lead.  Down to his last $255, Shurman went all-in with exactas using the favorite in Monmouth Park’s last race over three horses.  He connected with a longshot in the second spot and the resulting payout was enough to launch him all the way into the contest top-spot. 

By finishing first, Shurman automatically earned a cash prize of $11,745 and received two picks from the prize board which included 17 NHC seats, 6 BCBC seats and $39,240 cash.With his two picks, Shurman selected a BCBC seat and $15,696. 

In total, the Top 23 finishers received at least one selection from the prize board: 

1stPaul Shurman$8,190$27,441, BCBC seat
2ndThomas O’Connor$5,645.60$15,158, NHC seat
3rdPhil Lam$4,705$8,363, BCBC seat
4thRoger Cettina$4,485$6,273, BCBC seat
5thJoe Perry$4,306.50$4,966, BCBC seat
6thBill Rendino$3,920NHC seat, BCBC seat
7thCheryl McIntyre$3,892.50$1,962
8thWilliam Meisel$3,868NHC seat
9thStephanie Davis$3,683.50NHC seat
10thRyan Scharnowske$3,450.60NHC seat
11thRoger Cettina$3,436$1,177
12thBerry McQueen$2,914NHC seat
13thPete Acocella$2,850NHC seat
14thJerry McClenin$2,828.50NHC seat
15thPat Nufrio$2,600.60NHC seat
16thDuke Matties$2,085NHC seat
17thPaul Matties$2,027.50NHC seat
18thSteve Orrechio$1,975NHC seat
19thEvan Trommer$1,961NHC seat
20thBrent Sumja$1,893.50NHC seat
21stJeff Busan$1,891.50NHC seat
22ndJohn O’Neil$1,870NHC seat
23rdO Benjamin$1,860NHC seat