NEWS RELEASE Media Relations Office

Tom Luicci Media Manager



tluicci@monmouthpark.com • Phone: 732.571.5540 • Fax: 732.571.5526 • monmouthpark.com

July 15, 2025

THOROUGHBRED DAILY NEWS' CHRISTINA BOSSINAKIS NAMED RECIPIENT OF 2025 HANDLEMAN AWARD BY MONMOUTH

OCEANPORT, N.J. – Christina Bossinakis, senior editor for the Thoroughbred Daily News and a prominent TV racing personality, has been named the winner of the 2025 Bill Handleman Award for outstanding coverage of last year's NYRA Bets Haskell Stakes, Monmouth Park announced today.

First presented in 2012, the Handleman Award honors distinguished media coverage of the \$1 million, Grade 1 NYRA Bets Haskell Stakes, Monmouth Park's showcase race. It is presented annually prior to the Haskell.

The award honors the late Bill Handleman, one of New Jersey's top sportswriters for nearly three decades for the *Asbury Park Press*. Handleman, a fixture at Monmouth Park and a passionate chronicler of the sport, died in June of 2010 at the age of 62.

Bossinakis, who hails from Montreal, Canada, has worked as an on-air racing analyst, as a TV handicapper and paddock reporter and as a racing TV show host in addition to her role at Thoroughbred Daily News.

She co-authored the book "Sermon on the Mount" with the late Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas.

"This means a lot. I've always had a soft spot for Monmouth Park from working there with TVG," Bossinakis said. "I have spent a lot of time with the people at Monmouth Park, so it makes it a special honor for me.

"It's nice to feel rewarded when you put your heart and soul into something you love, so I am very appreciative."

Monmouth Park general manager John Heims called Bossinakis "the consummate professional."

"Her knowledge of Thoroughbred racing, both historical and current, never fails to impress," said Heims. "In addition to her excellent coverage of last year's Haskell on the Thoroughbred Daily News site, she has excelled in a variety of roles in the racing industry."

The first recipient of the Handleman Award was Tom Luicci of *The Star-Ledger*, followed by Steve Edelson of *The Asbury Park Press* in 2013, Dave Johnson of Sirius XM in 2014, Ed McNamara of *Newsday* in 2015, Bob Ehalt of ESPN.com and *Bloodhorse* in 2016, Tom Cassidy of TVG.com in 2017, Jim Dunleavy of *Daily Racing Form* in 2018, Mike Farrell of *The Associated Press* in 2019, Steve Byk of *At the Races With Steve Byk* in 2020, Matt Shifman of *Horse Racing Nation* in 2021, John Brennan of usbets.com in 2022, announcer/TV racing analyst Larry Collmus in 2023 and videographer Carlos Morales of Agentes 305 last year.