NEWS RELEASE Media Relations Office

Tom Luicci Media Manager



tluicci@monmouthpark.com • Phone: 732.571.5540 • Fax: 732.571.5526 • monmouthpark.com

LONG-TIME MONMOUTH PARK EXECUTIVE JOHN HEIMS NAMED 2025 RECIPIENT OF VIRGIL 'BUDDY' RAINES AWARD

OCEANPORT, N.J. – Long-time Monmouth Park executive John Heims, currently the track's general manager and in-house counsel, has been named the 2025 recipient of the Virgil "Buddy" Raines Distinguished Achievement Award, it was announced today by Monmouth Park.

The Raines Award, currently in its 30th year, is presented annually prior to Monmouth Park's season opener. It honors men and women who have demonstrated a continuing commitment to the sport of Thoroughbred racing as an owner, trainer or administrator, and whose conduct has been exemplary for professionalism, integrity and service to the sport.

Monmouth Park's 80th season of racing gets underway on Saturday, May 10.

Heims has been at Monmouth Park since 1997, serving in a variety of roles. He started at the Jersey Shore track as the Publicity Assistant, moving on to become the Director of Media Relations, In-House Counsel, Director of Racing/Racing Secretary and is currently the General Manager.

He previously worked at Hialeah Park (Publicity Director), Gulfstream Park (Simulcast Director) and Atlantic City Race Course.

"It's a great honor to be placed in the same company with so many of the previous recipients – Willard Thompson, Dennis Drazin, John Forbes, Jan Laszlo, Richard Malouf, Bill Anderson, Mike Musto and all the honorees," Heims said. "It is a privilege just to be mentioned alongside them.

"Having grown up at the Jersey Shore, Monmouth Park has been the only place I ever wanted to spend my time. To be so lucky and fortunate to work here for nearly 30 years, although when it's a labor of love it's not really work, has been a true blessing."

A graduate of Clemson University, Heims received a graduate degree in Equine Administration from the University of Louisville and a Juris Doctor from Widener University.

He has a private law practice in Toms River.

The list of previous Raines Award winners:

1996: J. Willard Thompson 1997: Danny Perlsweig 1998: Warren A. "Jimmy" Croll 1999: Joe Pierce Jr. 2000: Peter Shannon 2001: Dennis Drazin 2002: Sam Fieramosca 2003: Charles and Marianne Hesse 2004: Janet Laszlo 2005: Richard Malouf 2006: John Forbes 2007: Ben Perkins Sr. 2008: Gerald and Carolyn Sleeter 2009: Joel Kligman 2010: John Tammaro III 2011: Frank Costa 2012: John Mazza 2013: Ebby Novak 2014: Chuck Spina 2015: Bob Baffert 2016: Ed Barney 2017: Bob Kulina 2018: Mike Musto 2019: Tim Hills 2020: Leonard Green 2021: Bill Anderson 2022: Millie Fleming 2023: Pat McBurney 2024: John Bowers Jr.