Untitled Page

  • Bookmark and Share


Race Summary

The Bob Baffert-trained Coil rallied past Preakness winner Shackleford and Belmont winner Ruler On Ice in a last-to-first Haskell score giving his conditioner a record fifth win in Monmouth Park's premier event.  The son of 2001 Haskell winner Point Given made it consecutive Haskell scores for not only his trainer but his jockey Martin Garcia.  Preakness winner Shackleford fought stubbornly through the stretch but ended up a neck behind the winner at the wire.

Complete Results Race Chart

1CoilMartin GarciaBob BaffertKarl Watson, Michael E. Pegram & Paul Weitman
2ShacklefordJesus CastanonDale RomansMichael Lauffer and W.D. Cubbedge
3Ruler on IceJose Valdivia, Jr.Kelly BreenGeorge and Lori Hall
4J J's Lucky TrainPaco LopezBill AndersonFresh Start Stable
5Pants On FireElvis TrujilloKelly BreenGeorge and Lori Hall
6Joe VannJoe BravoTodd PletcherZayat Stables, LLC
7AstrologyJulien LeparouxSteve AsmussenStonestreet Stables and George Bolton
8Concealed IdentityChris DeCarloEdmond GaudetLinda S. Gaudet and Morris Bailey